Go Back   Webmaster Tips and Tricks Forums - web master resources > The web business as it is > Legal problems

Legal problems Any problems with the law? Ideas how to not get them? Discuss legal issues related to web development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-25-2005, 12:50 PM
macooper's Avatar
macooper macooper is offline
Wtricks member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 34
Rep Power: 0
macooper is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Signs of a scam

Whenever I part with money at any website, the first thing I do is follow a simple checklist to see how well they do.

1) Does the site have a current SSL cert ?

2) Use www.whois.sc to check the whois information. Are the address details for the domain listed ?
3) In the domain contact details, is there a valid email address and is it from a free account (such as hotmail, gmail etc.) ?

4) Does the site display the owners contact details on the about page ? If so, do these details match the details listed in whois for the domain ?

5) Is there a valid phone number visible, and does it work ?

Now the SSL cert is an exception, in that if people use a 3rd party processor, it may not be required (such as 2checkout, paypal etc.). But the other details should tie up. In general, amyone that is trying to do ligitimate business on the web will go out of their way to try and make it clear that they are ligitimate. So if a site has not even done the bare basics to give customers enough confidence to buy they're products, then it is almost certainly some sort of scam.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-25-2005, 01:05 PM
MisterB's Avatar
MisterB MisterB is offline
Beginner designer
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leskovac, south Serbia
Age: 35
Posts: 251
Rep Power: 0
MisterB is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

That is very useful information.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-20-2005, 08:12 PM
gamesandmore's Avatar
gamesandmore gamesandmore is offline
Super Moderator
Know-it-all
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Surrey, England
Age: 20
Posts: 1,370
Rep Power: 0
gamesandmore is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Thanks for sharing this with us this is very interesting and will help many members work out if they are paying money to rouge traders or to who you think you are paying.
__________________
Another post by http://www.gamesandmore.co.uk
Celebrating the launch of http://www.reallypay.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-16-2006, 06:58 PM
dreamsync's Avatar
dreamsync dreamsync is offline
Super Moderator
Designer
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 353
Rep Power: 0
dreamsync has disabled reputation
Default

I like that list. Those are things I always check for. In addition to those I'll check for

6) Any BBB records the company may have
7) References to the product or web site on other web sites.

If I decide to purchase something I don't require all of those things to be present(new company may not have any information in a bbb record), but a number of them should be there and no major consistent red flags.
__________________
Dreamsync.com
pcQnA.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-17-2006, 07:52 AM
bdude's Avatar
bdude bdude is offline
Aspiring expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: australia
Posts: 645
Rep Power: 0
bdude is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Well, I guess the way to tell is simply "if it's too good to be true, it isn't true" - also look for websites, phone numbers etc
__________________
The Blogging Café - Blogging Forum
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-17-2006, 08:42 AM
dojo's Avatar
dojo dojo is offline
dojo
Site AdminWtricks GURU
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Romania
Age: 31
Posts: 5,667
Rep Power: 0
dojo is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Agreed .. we always need to understand how that business can function in order to give the owner results (no one runs an un-lucrative business) and see if it works .. many times a serious thought and looking for more info can save you a lot of money and keep you from a scam ...
__________________
Don't forget to read our rules!
The Ad Broker - sell / buy ads. FREE listings
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-17-2006, 11:34 PM
bdude's Avatar
bdude bdude is offline
Aspiring expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: australia
Posts: 645
Rep Power: 0
bdude is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Agreed, if you can't think of reason why would they be doing this, then there's something fishy
__________________
The Blogging Café - Blogging Forum
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Forum SEO by Zoints
Theme redesigned by Dojo Design. © 2005, 2006 Dojo Design & Wtricks.com